Pigeon Angels
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pigeon Angels

RegisterSearchLatest imagesHomeLog in
At this time Pigeon Angels forum is in an archive status. For assistance please log into Pigeon Angels Facebook by clicking the following link. Thank You https://www.facebook.com/groups/176239232007/?hc_location=stream

Help needed with fledgling dove

Go down 
5 posters
Go to page : 1, 2, 3  Next
AuthorMessage
Raelene71

Help needed with fledgling dove Empty
PostSubject: Help needed with fledgling dove   Help needed with fledgling dove Icon_minitimeFri Mar 18, 2011 4:33 pm

Hello all, I am new to Pigeon Angels & would really appreciate some advice with a recently rescued white baby dove!

About 3 days ago, one of my cats brought a white dove into our back yard. I managed to get it away from the cat safely and after taking it up to the vets for a check-up was told that it was a fledgling and completely unharmed from it's earlier ordeal.

We decided to look after it ourselves (the vet told us it wasn't difficult!) with the hope of releasing it back to where it came from - we live in a converted victorian convent and we have white doves that nest/roost in & around the convent eaves/belltower/balconies.

I have just read that fledglings can spend up to 3 days on the ground before they can properly fly, with the parents watching in the background & only coming to feed it now and again as they are trying to encourage it to feed for itself (and fly). I am guessing now that this is how our cat has gotten hold of it as the dove does not need to be hand fed & is very happily eating the wild bird seed (mainly millet I think) from a small dish. I am however hand feeding it water as I have not seen it drink on it's own yet.