Pigeon Angels
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pigeon Angels

RegisterSearchLatest imagesHomeLog in
At this time Pigeon Angels forum is in an archive status. For assistance please log into Pigeon Angels Facebook by clicking the following link. Thank You https://www.facebook.com/groups/176239232007/?hc_location=stream

Tony the Pigeon is a superstar!

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Teresa
Administrative Member
Teresa

Tony the Pigeon is a superstar! Empty
PostSubject: Tony the Pigeon is a superstar!   Tony the Pigeon is a superstar! Icon_minitimeSun Jul 31, 2011 10:36 am

Link to the story and photo: http://articles.nydailynews.com/2011-07-18/entertainment/29805350_1_pigeon-tony-ferry

Birdbrain might not be such an insult after all.

A feral pigeon nicknamed Tony has been riding the New York Waterway ferry from Manhattan to Weehawken at the same time every day for three years.

"I've been working this job for 23 years and I've never seen anything like this," says senior deckhand George Schumpp, a 52-year-old from the upper East Side. "Three years ago, this pigeon shows up and starts going through the cabin and eating crumbs. Next thing you know, he's here every day at the exact same time. And he does more work cleaning than my partner."

According to deckhands and regular passengers, Tony boards the Thomas Jefferson ferry every morning at Pier 79 on W. 39th St. during the rush-hour commute. He travels back and forth on the boat to New Jersey, exiting briefly at each dock to search for food, before disembarking after two hours without fail back in Manhattan.

He then repeats the same two-hour routine, wandering both the upper and lower decks of the boat, during the evening commute. The only time he ever misses a day is during a blizzard.