Pigeon Angels
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pigeon Angels

RegisterSearchLatest imagesHomeLog in
At this time Pigeon Angels forum is in an archive status. For assistance please log into Pigeon Angels Facebook by clicking the following link. Thank You https://www.facebook.com/groups/176239232007/?hc_location=stream

I have an estimated 1-2 week old pigeon.

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
HowdoIPigeon

I have an estimated 1-2 week old pigeon. Empty
PostSubject: I have an estimated 1-2 week old pigeon.   I have an estimated 1-2 week old pigeon. Icon_minitimeWed Dec 21, 2011 9:52 pm

I have very little knowledge on baby bird raising.

I have an estimated 1-2 week old pigeon. Fxtqy11
This is him.

I don't have the resources or knowledge to raise a pigeon, so I don't really know what I can do.
Back to top Go down
Matilda
Special Pigeon Angel
Matilda

PostSubject: Re: I have an estimated 1-2 week old pigeon.   I have an estimated 1-2 week old pigeon. Icon_minitimeWed Dec 21, 2011 11:06 pm

Looks to me like your rescue is about 10 days old. Keep him inside and keep in warm. A heating pad, set on the lowsetting works well.

As you don't have experience with birds, follow the included prewritten instructions. Where are you located, incase we know of a rehabber near by?

You can hand feed defrosted peas. Run some hot water over them until they are defrosted and slightly warmed. Put the bird on your lap and hold it next to your body. If it helps because you are having a hard time handling the pigeon, you can wrap a towel around it or put it in the sleeve of a tee shirt, with the head out the wrist. This method confines the pigeon without hurting him and makes it easier to handle. Gently open the beak and pop a pea at the back of the mouth and over the throat. It gets easier and faster, with practice, for both you and the bird.