Pigeon Angels
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pigeon Angels

RegisterSearchLatest imagesHomeLog in
At this time Pigeon Angels forum is in an archive status. For assistance please log into Pigeon Angels Facebook by clicking the following link. Thank You https://www.facebook.com/groups/176239232007/?hc_location=stream

what to do with my rescued baby Wood Pigeon,

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
dollyanna

what to do with my rescued baby Wood Pigeon, Empty
PostSubject: what to do with my rescued baby Wood Pigeon,   what to do with my rescued baby Wood Pigeon, Icon_minitimeMon Aug 13, 2012 4:03 pm

Hi everyone,
I rescued a fledgling Woody from my garden about 10 days ago, lm a total novice so please bear with me, l spotted him on Aug 2nd, he was nestled at the bottom of my conifers, he looked in good health so l "ignorantly" thought his mum would take care of him, lv got 3 pairs in my garden and 2 pairs of Wild Doves, so many people say dont interfear with wildlife, so l thought l was acting responsibly by leaving well alone, (big mistake)!!
The following morning l went into the garden to find him balancing at the edge of my pond, he/she (we refer to him as he) was shivering, bleeding and had flys buzzing round him, l put him into a box and brought him inside, not knowing a thing to do, l searched this site and another for information, I hydrated him with warm water and honey, he drank all of it, l then sat him on warm towels and left him to rest, he was well feathered with a small amount of yellow down here and there, well over the following days he ate everything he was offered, porridge to start with some vitimin seeds added, we used a syringe at first then went on to hand feeding which was much easier and he loved it!!